In fulfilment of his pre-election promise to the people of Ekiti State to get them involved in the appointment of political office holders in his government, the state Governor, Mr Biodun Oyebanji, has appointed an eight-member committee to coordinate the process.

The committee has the mandate of the Governor to consult with relevant stakeholders across the 16 local government areas of the state, screen and recommend names of suitable candidates for political appointment.

Some of the key requirements the committee will consider, aside paper qualifications, include track record, character, competence, compassion, integrity, diligence and contribution to community development, among others.

The committee’s task, however, does not cover appointment into the governing councils of state-owned tertiary institutions, as there are laid down procedures guiding such appointment.

Members of the committee are:

1. Chief George Akosile – – Chairman
2. Prof Modupe Adelabu – Member
3. Barrister Paul Omotoso – Member
4. Chief Alaba Bejide – Member
5. Chief Olajide Awe – Member
6. Chief (Mrs) Ronke Okusanya- Member
7. Mr Bayo Aina – Member
8. Mr Lekan Ijidale – Member
The inaugural meeting of the committee is scheduled for Monday, April 3, 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *